Lewa House – A little gem in paradise

Lewa House

During my stay at Lewa Wildlife Conservancy, the people from Lewa ensured I could sleep at Lewa House. This little lodge that is run by Calum and Sophie was actually closed because of the rainy season, but since they were actually present and some of their staff was as well, they offered me one of their rooms.

I must say that I was really amazed when I first arrived here. It already started with the apologies that the thatched  roof of their main dining room was being redone, and they hoped I would not have issues with lunch and dinner being served next to the pool. In a place where during the day the temperature rises above 25 degrees Celsius. What a horrible stay this was going to be 😉

Staying in a hotel for me is most of the time a business necessity and I therefore try to spend as little a time in the actual hotel. This time round I was really sad to leave this place after 4 days. Whenever we go away with the family we tend to book our own cottage or something similar. This had a lot of close resemblance to it, since all the rooms are a little cottage with their own privacy, with the added benefit of the fact that all food and drinks were catered for.  A lot of it was in the small touches that makes it such a great place:

  • A wakening call with a hot pot of tea and biscuits.
  • Almost all vegetables and fruit grown in their own garden and used in the food that is being served.
  • Callum and/or Sophie joining for the meals.
  • The doors closed and the lights turned on for your room when it gets dark.
  • A hot water bottle in your bed before you are going to sleep (which I must confess scared the shit out of me the first time around).

And there is probably more that I may have missed all together since I was so overwhelmed.Lewa House Breakfast Guests

They for instance grow almost all their vegetables and fruit in their own garden, and use this in the food that is being served. Being awakened by the staff at a time suitable; with a knock on the door, a pot of tea and a small tray of homemade biscuits. I really felt sorry for my wife when I was explaining to her that I was treated like a king over here.

The service is one thing (which was superb), the location and view are superb as well. My room was overlooking a large part of Lewa Conservancy, and all I had to do for that was open my double doors onto the porch. It was great to have my early morning pot of tea whilst watching the conservancy come to life and the sun go up. The whole garden looked stunning as well, with a wide array of plants and flowers.

I can only tell positive stories about this place, and I am pretty confident that one day I will come back here with my wife and the kids so that they can experience this as well. The only negative thing that I can comment about, is that I was only allowed to stay for 4 days and that I have to move on to the next job at Ol Pejeta Conservancy later today. But who knows what the next stop might bring me…

Lewa House Porch View

2 responses to “Lewa House – A little gem in paradise”

  1. David Lamas Loureiro says :

    This is a classic: “A hot water bottle in your bed before you are going to sleep which I must confess scared the shit out of me the first time around).”

    I’m not at all jealous, oh no 😉

Leave a comment