Asante Sana!

I have arrived home again yesterday at the end of the day, after an 8 hour flight from Nairobi to Amsterdam. Such a flight gives you a lot of time to think and reflect on the trip. I know that all 3 organisations where happy with my trip, that is what they expressed to me when I left them. I am also grateful for the opportunity they have given me, to give something back. On top of that they have also showed me (again) how beautiful their country is and how privileged I am to have seen the best places of their conservancies.

IMG_2357.JPG

It is also good to be back home again though. My wife and kids really missed me whilst I was away, so we were all happy to see each other again yesterday evening. I was happy to drive on a motorway on my way home in the Netherlands, during which we did not have to worry about busses overtaking at places where it was impossible. We did not have to worry about people trying to cross a motorway during peak hour traffic. We did not have to worry about potholes that could fit your whole car. We did not have to worry about grasshoppers the size of your hand in the shower room. I could dress myself this morning without having to worry about spiders or scorpions in my clothes or shoes. And during breakfast this morning I was enjoying the simple cheese sandwich instead of the sometime lavish breakfast we got in the conservancies, which made you feel bad being on a volunteering trip 😉

IMG_9437.jpg

But is all of it really so bad? No it is not. It is the charm of the country and it is what makes a trip like this unique. I am already thinking about my next trip, but  next time with the wife and kids as well. I have been told that if I would go next time and not invite them, they would either change the locks according to my wife, or go with me in the suitcase according to the kids. Both of them are not preferable.

Asanta Sana Lewa Wildlife Conservancy, Ol Pejeta Conservancy and Save the Elephants, see you soon!

IMG_9539.jpg

Leave a comment